Student Senate to vote on emergency bill

Corryn Brock, News Editor

The Student Senate will vote Wednesday on an emergency bill to approve releasing funds for date rape drug testing kits.

The kits will be given out to students during a “Your Campus, Your Voice” campus safety and health table on Oct. 29 in front of Coleman Hall from 2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

The total cost of the kits will be $124.90 for 10 packs.

Study Body President Carson Gordon said the kits are meant to help keep students safe.

“We want to make sure that the student body is staying safe when they are going out and celebrating Halloween,” Gordon said.

The “Your Campus, Your Voice” tabling is meant to hear from the student body on things they would like to see done on campus.

“We’ll be getting feedback from and starting a dialogue with students as to what safety-related legislation, programs, or initiatives they’d like to see Student Government work on this year and providing students with the kits,” Gordon said.

Gordon said student involvement in the Senate is key.

“It’s extremely important. That’s been a really big priority of ours; we really want to make sure students voices are being heard, and we want students to know that we’re listening, Gordon said.

In the consent agenda the appointment of Noor-ul-Haash Khamisani to the Diversity Action Council and the appointment of Ethan Osborne to the Bond Revenue Committee will be voted on.

Audience participation during the meeting will come from New Student and Family Programs and Booth Library.

The Student Senate will hear reports from:

· Ceci Brinker (Advisor Report)

· Sophia Sarver (Graduate Report)

· Michael Perri (Speaker of the Senate Report)

· Carson Gordon (Student Body President Report)

· Kathleen Conlin (Executive Vice President Report)

· Noor-ul-Haash Khamisani (Vice-President of Academic Affairs Report)

· Samira Abdoulaye Pedila (Vice-President of Student Affairs Report)

· Seth Yeakel (Academic Affairs Committee Report)

· Brianna Hogan (Alumni Relations Committee Report)

· Randall Becker (Business Affairs Committee Report)

· David Hagler (Diversity Affairs Committee Report)

· Zoey White (External Relations Committee Report)

· Elizabeth Stevens (Internal Affairs Committee Report)

· Skylar Coffey (Student Affairs Committee Report)

· Zack Archey (University Enhancement Committee Report)

Corryn Brock can be reached at 581-2812 or at [email protected].