2022-23 Student Government election results


Ashanti Thomas

Lucy Ade poses for a photo to be on the cover of the Daily Eastern News’ DEN People of the Year edition

Staff Report

Last week was the elections for the 2022-23 student body president, executive vice president and five student senator positions with no candidates for vice president of academic affairs and vice president for student affairs.

The only candidate for student body president was Lucy Ade, a sophomore interpersonal communication major, who was elected with 263 votes along with 34 no confidence.

Connor Mellott, a freshman public relations major, was the only candidate for executive vice president and won with 261 votes along with 31 no confidence votes.

The five senators running for re-election for a 2022-23 term are: 

  • Brianna Hull-Dennis, a junior political science major
  • Lesly Mendoza, a freshman engineering technology major
  • Karolina Guzek, a freshman political science major
  • Krishna Raju, a pre-engineering major
  • Mahlet Mulugeta, a computer science major

Hull-Dennis was elected with 194 votes, Mendoza with 183, Guzek with 180, Raju with 153 and Mulugeta with 148 votes.

The elected candidates will take the oath of office on Wednesday and their term begins July 1.


The News Staff can be reached at 581-2812 or at [email protected]