SGA executives to be sworn in

Staff Report

The Student Senate executive board for the 2021-22 school year will be sworn into office Wednesday afternoon. 

Jacqueline Williams, a junior kinesiology major, will replace Noor-ul-haash Khamisani, a senior English major, as Student Body President.

Williams recieved 228 votes while her predecessor, Khamisani, received 195 votes in the previous election.

Payton Ade, a freshman political science major, will replace Michael Perri, a senior political science major, as Executive Vice President. 

Prabin Karki, a sophomore mathematics major, will replace Justin Richards, a senior digital media technology, as Student Vice President of Academic Affairs. 

Terrence Trimuel, a junior accounting major, will replace Skylar Coffey, a grad student studying political science, as Vice President for Student Affairs. 

The swearing-in ceremony will be on Wednesday at 4 p.m. and will be livestreamed on Student Government’s social media. 

Student Government will not be meeting again until the Fall semester. 

Elections occurred on April 19 and 20 and the results were announced at the Student Senate meeting on April 21.

During the last election for the current Student Government executives there was controversy surrounding the results of the election.

Khamisani was accused of violating campaign guidelines and had the total votes cast for her reduced.

In an appeal through the Eastern Vice President of AStudent Affairs Office it was decided Khamisani would be named Student Body President.

No other election results were contested.


The News Staff can be reached at 581-2812 or at [email protected]