Michael joins Division I Football Committee

Adam Tumino, Editor-in-Chief

Eastern Athletic Director Tom Michael was appointed to the NCAA Division I Football Committee last week, officially beginning time on the 10-person committee on Sept. 1.

The main role of the committee is to select the field and organize the seeding for the FCS football playoff each season.

“I’m excited about that,” Michael said. “It’s an opportunity to certainly serve our organization and to be involved that our championship is as competitive as it can be with making those selections.”

Each season, 24 teams take part in the FCS playoffs, which normally take place in the late fall and winter. Of course this season it will have to be pushed back to the spring.

“I think it’s an exciting time, it’s certainly going to be a very interesting time going on the committee this year with the changes that are taking place, and the proposals of trying to have the championship late in the spring, in April or May,” Michael said. “It’s going to be an interesting time,”

Michael has served previously on the FCS Regional Advisory Committee for the Central Region, which helps evaluate teams from the Missouri Valley Football Conference, Ohio Valley Conference and Pioneer Football League.

Now Michael will have to become more familiar with the other 11 conferences that, included with the other three, make up the FCS when discussing seeding.

“We would get on a call each week and we would talk about the teams in our conference and then we would go and rank them, and that would be sent to the football committee that I’m now a part of,” Michael said.

“We’re going to be deciding on teams from the Big Sky to the Southland to the OVC, everything in between. It’s going to require certainly keeping up with more with the national scene of what’s taking place, to try to make sure that we have a good place of seeding the teams and selecting the at-large teams at well.”

The 14 conference that make up the FCS are the Big Sky Conference, Big South Conference, Colonial Athletic Association, Ivy League, Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, Missouri Valley Football Conference, Northeast Conference, Ohio Valley Conference, Patriot League, Pioneer League, Southern Conference, Southland Conference and Southwestern Athletic Conference.

The 2020 champions were South Dakota State.


Adam Tumino can be reached at 581-2812 or [email protected]